Twennie Niner, part one.

I turned twenty-nine years of age this past Saturday! The last year of my twenties, as Mike likes to remind me. In this final blustery year, I am bolstered by my prudent career choice and ability to consistently get carded wherever I go! Instead of getting messy for my birthday celebration like I did, oh, last year (we were on tour), I went out for dinner with Mike and our Goode Neighbours, Erin and Justin. I had a ball choosing  the place, soliciting friends and receiving many recommendations for bring-your-own-wine locales. In the end le Quartier Général won out (thanks to Alex C. for the recommendation!). Please excuse any blurry photos and impressionistic descriptions of the dishes we ordered, it appears that we were perhaps a bit messy, but just a bit.

Erin as hand model.

Lovely bottles of wine chosen by Justin!

Le Quartier Général has two dinner services, one at 6pm and the other at 9pm, and as we wanted to linger after supper and wanted lots of time in advance to get dressed/watch football, we went with the later seating. The chalkboard menus and charming waiter let us know about the table d’hote where one can add $12 to a main dish ($25-29) to include a soup or salad, an appetizer and dessert with tea or coffee, which we all went for and did not regret one bit!

Two of us went for the soup: cream of corn with cumin

The other two for salad: a simple yet delicious balsamic vinagrette, more vinegar than olive oil.

Crab cake!

Octopus with baba ganoush, chickpeas...Mike's piece was a whole lot bigger than Erin's here!

Veal with parsnips and something lovely underneath that we think are mashed jerusalem artichokes

Beef (medium rare) with aged Quebec cheddar and red wine mushroom sauce and mashed potatoes

Bass with little neck clams!

Rabbit stuffed with rabbit confit and chorizo sausage atop pureed beets and a lovely brown sauce of some kind.

Bugs never had a chance.

Creme brulee!

Thick chocolate mousse with blackberries!

Nougat ice cream! Yum.

I ordered the rabbit and liked it very much, though I did pass over a duck with mint dish that sounded divine. I always order the duck so I was giving a new dish a go, you know?

I was pretty pleased with the whole evening. We cabbed back and forth from Verdun in the slippery snow and we had a lovely time getting dressed, getting tipsy, getting fed and then getting back home for some TIVO-ed football and Gwyneth Platrow on SNL (pretty boring). I wore a new Beatles-esque military jacket I picked up recently (more on this later) and my Lalouka skirt and Erin wore a lovely muted peach shell with a gold dog pin. The men were handsome beardos, as usual. No great photos as the wine got to us sooner than anticipated, so here are some of Erin’s “hipstomatic”iPhone pix back in VerFun post dinner.

A xo

Mike, Chester the neighbour dog and me on the Goode Neighbours 60s divan

WHOYOUCALLINTHIRTY?

3 comments

  1. I’m drooling at this post. I’ll have to check out this place after my pocketbook has recovered from the holidays, though it looks like it worth every cent! Congrats on not yet being 30 and on a lovely night out in this incredible city of ours. (Loves the pic with Mike…too cute!)

  2. One thing I did notice about the restaurant is that it didn’t have salt & pepper shakers/mills on the table. Is it arrogant to trust that your food is perfectly seasoned for everyone when it arrives at the table? Huh?

    Anyway, excellent dinner, thanks for having us lady!


Leave a Reply

