Days of Heaven

Terrence Malick’s Days of Heaven (1978) has yet again become a topic of conversation at our place as we’ve just received the Criterion Collection BluRay version of the film. There are some truly excellent extras included on the disc including interviews with camera operator John Bailey, cinematographer Haskell Wexler, and actor Sam Shepard, all of whom are quite insightful when discussing Malick’s unique, quietly anti-Hollywood approach to filmmaking. Their anecdotes about the production of the film are lovely and I won’t ruin the pleasure of listening to them by recounting them here.

I think that Malick might be my favorite director (though I’m not in the practice of choosing favorites) as his observational, poetic approach to depicting the world in his films resonates with me for days after watching his work, the world being both humble and beautiful as well as overwhelmingly The World. It’s seems to me that he never misses the point or creates films that function as distractions or an escape from being. I apologize if this all sounds overly sentimental and reverent, it’s just that I do find his work quite special…and it goes without saying that I am looking forward to Tree of Life (2011).

Leave a Reply

