Erotics of Attention: Films of ELLIE EPP

My buds and fellow Double Negative Collective members, Malena Szlam and Daichi Saito are the programmers behind the new Parallax Views series at the Segal Center. A few weeks ago they showed Paul Clipson’s work (filmmaker was in attendance) and this weekend they’re featuring the work of Ellie Epp,  who will be attending the screening.

From the program notes:

Legendary Canadian filmmaker, writer and philosopher Ellie Epp screens her four 16mm films followed by a Q&A with the artist. Alongside her films, she will introduce Pictures On Pink Paper, a film by British artist Lis Rhodes.

“Framing of a slide is absolute. You can’t fix it later. You only have once chance. People have said they can see in my work that I’m coming from still photography. I can see that too, but I think the fixed frame is appropriate to the kind of film I make, that sense of someone standing and staring. The fixed frame says that I’ve given the stage to the thing I’m looking at, I’m letting it take me. It is a kind of erotic.” (Ellie Epp, from “As If an Interview”)

Details about the event:

Saturday February 12th at 7:30pm in the Segal Centre CinemaSpace. The screening will be followed by a Q&A with the filmmaker. WHERE: 5170, ch. de la Côte-Ste-Catherine (Metro Snowdon or Côte-Ste-Catherine, Bus 129) TICKETS: Adults $10 | Students/Seniors $8

Links:

Leave a Reply

